Roses excite the matters of the heart. Once I began sharing a cup of tea with my roses after breakfast, my heart has opened to a deeper understanding of the quiet beauty and joy of the rose.  For the rose’s pleasure, sometimes I brew a special tea from yarrow, alfalfa and a clove of garlic which is  poured on the roots of all the roses in the garden. After the blooms have finished their job of pouring fragrance into the garden, they are captured in my rose petal basket, to celebrate their lovely scent whenever I want.

The Latin word, rosarium means rose garden, from that word evolved the rosary beads which were once made from rolled rose petals.  Originating in China, rosary beads can be found in many religions around the world. The Chinese’s fat, laughing Buddah holds the beads and awaits the next Buddah, Lord Maitreya.  Japanese depict Kuan Yin, Buddha of Compassion, as receiving rosary beads from a bird. In the Catholic Church there are 165 rosary beads to count while reciting the Hail Mary and Our Father prayers.

